Betting on the gee-gees

I’m not really into sport. I can’t be bothered with all the fuss about rules and players and equipment but three times a year I get all tingly about horse racing.

Yesterday was the Cheltenham Gold Cup and true to my usual personal spread-betting technique, I bet on four horses: one which I thought would probably win (Denman), one which I thought might win (Tricky Trickster) and two which I thought didn’t stand a chance but because they had such long odds were definitely worth the risk (Mon Mome and My Will).

I didn’t bother to read the form – my choices were based purely on the horses’ names combined with their odds. My friend, who read up on the form, chose exactly the same four horses so I guess my method is as good as any – indeed Silver Birch has paid out for me twice in the past.

So yesterday, while I didn’t exactly win enough to transform my life (in fact getting nothing for Denman as I only bet on it to win instead of each-way), with my 50% successful prediction rate, I did come off feeling something of a winner, with Denman coming 2nd and Mon Mome coming in 3rd place.

The next race in my sporting calendar is the Grand National on Saturday 10th April. Fancy a trip to the bookies?

Mon Mome coming 3rd in the Cheltenham Gold Cup 2010

Leave a Reply

