Cleaning the soffice

The second worst thing about using the sofa for both work and leisure is the amount of crap that accumulates around you. (Obviously the first is that if you’re not careful, you might end up looking like the mum out of What’s eating Gilbert Grape?)

As well as books, papers and magazines, I am currently surrounded by numerous bits of electrical equipment and remote controls, a make-up bag, mirror, pencil-case, sweater shaver, fly swat, pliers, filfofax, tape measure and umpteen bits of paper. And I daren’t even look down the back of the seat cushion.

chocolate coffee beansThe other thing about spending so much time on the sofa is the eating/mess thing. Crumbs and the occasional water spill I can live with, but having just scraped a melted chocolate coffee bean off both my bum and the sofa – and who knew something so small could spread so far? – feel that a change must be made.

I think I’ll have to cultivate a ‘no brown food’ policy on my sofa. Certainly no brown food that melts. Or in fact any other food that can’t be sucked away with a quick wave of the Dyson.

2 responses to “Cleaning the soffice

  1. I am so very, very relieved to know I am not the only person out there with a soffice (brilliant word – may I steal?), though mine is currently neat, if not clean. We’ll see how long that lasts.

  2. Feel free to steal soffice – anyone who’s got one definitely needs a word for it.

Leave a Reply

