Chelsea Physic Garden

Do you have a place that you walk past every day and think ‘I really must go in there’ every time you pass?

For me it’s the Physic Garden, hidden away behind a high old wall on my daily part-hike to work for the past five years, so this afternoon, tempted by the sunshine and a bit of free time, I turned from the path and made my way round the wall to the public entrance.

I expected a beautiful flower-filled, fragrant garden. What I got was a beautiful flower-filled garden stinking of poorly-composted manure, but the stench was a small price to pay in comparison to the amazing collection of plants.

Once upon a time, back in 1673, it was filled with plants of purely medicinal value but these days has a wider range of botanical subjects, including a fantastic face-high thistle with the delightful name of Silybum something-or-other.

My favourite area was the old rock garden with a raised  pond. Probably because it reminded me a little of the natural planting you find along coastal paths and I am rather fond of a good coastal path. I fell in love with the plant below that looks an awful lot like cow parsley. I won’t leave it so long until my next visit.

Chelsea Physic Garden

Chelsea Physic Garden

Leave a Reply

