Storms, Gilmore Girls and custard creams

Is there anything better than having a day off in the middle of the week to do whatever you like? A day when you don’t actually have to do anything at all if you don’t want to.

Yes there is. It’s a day when you don’t need to do anything, plus you have an unwatched dvd of the Gilmore Girls and a giant tin of custard creams to munch your way through. Then, as an added bonus, when you’re half way through watching the dvd, the postman sticks another four episodes through your letter box (and no, that’s not a euphemism).

Later, just as you’re snuggled up on the sofa in Stars Hollow heaven, the blanket-grey sky outside starts to grumble and weep and make that beautiful sound that rain does when it bounces off the leaves, just to remind you how wonderful it is to live up high with the tree tops.

Today has been about as perfect as a day gets.

M&S custard cream tin

4 responses to “Storms, Gilmore Girls and custard creams

  1. I almost cried when I came across this post. It’s me. I love Gilmore Girls and I didn’t start watching until I discovered it on DVD. Now I own the whole series. This is a great post and it could have been me writing it. Really love the title of your Blog, too. Ok, now that I have gushed all over myself. It has been nice to find your blog. Glad I kept looking for the diamond in the rough or how ever it goes. For me there is nothing better than Saturday. My husband works and I have the house all to myself. Will have to come back when I have time to read more. Hope you will visit my blog. 🙂 Even if you aren’t into knowing about computers, I try to make it a clever journey.

  2. ooh, thanks iowamrs – it’s always useful to know people who are computer experts so I’m very glad you enjoyed your visit.

  3. I am back. I am in my Gilmore Girls mode and I just finished the episode Road Trip. Lorelai has just canceled her marriage to Max. Can you believe when I first started watching this series I couldn’t stand it. How could I watch something where the characters are obviously so self-obsessed. Well that didn’t last. I got hooked. Today, I feel the dialogue alone is some of the best, if not the best ever written. I have to take my hat off to Amy Sherman-Palladino. I would love to sit down with Alexis and Lauren and find out how long it took them just to memorize their lines. It still make me laugh and there is so much, you can’t get it all in one sitting. Still hearing things i missed, first, second, third, fourth time around. And I found a Gilmore Girls forum.
    http://www.gilmoregirls.org/other.html Boy I am hooked. But why not, there are a lot worse things a person could be hooked on and this at least makes me laugh. Thanks SOMTHINGTHAT for giving me a Gilmore Girls platform. I won’t hog it too much. 🙂 And, unlike other series, it was pretty true to itself to the end.

  4. ‘…the end.’ There’s an end to the Gilmore Girls? I don’t like the sound of that. I hate it when things I love end. I’m still only up to series 3, although I’ve seen odd episodes of the other seasons.
    I won’t be joining a GG forum as talking about it too much would ruin it.

Leave a Reply

