Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows: Part 1

At the risk of outing myself as a total dweeb, I confess that not only did I go to see the new HP film yesterday but that I went willingly and enthusiastically.

And I don’t care about being a spoiler because if you’ve read the books you know what’s coming anyway and if you haven’t read the books, DON’T SEE THE MOVIE!

If you fall into this latter category of people then you’re missing out. Winter is almost upon us so what better excuse do you need to go into hibernation with a novel or seven? They really are very good and each one gets better (and better written) than the last.

Of all the Harry Potter films, I think this one is most true to the book. Other films – particularly the last one – have left out great chunks but nothing felt glaringly missing from this one, and that’s quite an achievement with a book that size.

It would appear that I’ve overtaken Laura Ingles from Little House on the Prairie as the world’s greatest water-head because I had tears running down my face even before the opening credits had finished and at the end when Dob…

(sobs) No. I can’t say it.

One response to “Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows: Part 1

  1. J.K. Rowling is not human. This is the only explanation for everyone’s love of Harry Potter. Yesterday I heard a bunch of teenagers, who looked and spoke like future ram-raiders/cannibals, talking about how Harry Potter is the best thing EVAH and how they couldn’t wait to see the new one.

Leave a Reply

