Hyde Park Winter Wonderland

Since Saturday, not only have I been wandering around singing Chris Rea’s festive ditty Driving home for Christmas, but as I’ve been singing it, it’s been accompanied in my head by a moose.

Apparently this moose is making its second annual appearance in Hyde Park because last year someone YouTube’d it…  Singing Moose

It’s been two years since I last went to the winter fair, when it comprised a couple of crappy stalls, some even crappier rides and a rather pretty big wheel. This year it’s ginormous – the rides are endless and look great fun and there’s tasty-looking food and booze on every corner. And a singing moose. What more could you ask for?

I can’t wait to go back and have a go on the dropping thing and the top-hanging rollercoaster but I think I’ll hold off with the burger-eating and glogg-drinking until I’ve had my fill of spinning and whizzing around. My stomach’s not as strong as it used to be and a marzipan potato might tip me over the edge.

2 responses to “Hyde Park Winter Wonderland

  1. I went to this on its last day today with my kids. It cost me about £80, not including travel. And we only went on one ride apart from the ice skating and the wheel and had one Bratwurst and 3 portions of chips between us — not even a drink!

    And I didn’t see the singing moose.

    It’s a nice place but stay too long there and you’ll be bankrupt.

  2. It sounds like you managed to do quite a lot for your £80 though. You’d probably have spent heaps more at somewhere like Thorpe Park.

Leave a Reply

